Delicious Fish Stew-Soup

First off, allow me to justify the name choice here: naturally I believe everything I post is delicious, but I felt the addition was warranted based on my partner’s reaction ie: “Fish soup that isn’t chowder? I don’t think I’m going to like it…” shortly followed by “Wow, this is really good!” Secondly, it’s really thick in terms of all the goodies in it, but the broth isn’t saucy like in a stew, so it’s soup-stew. Or Stoop. But I’m not really sure how appetizing fish stoop sounds, so maybe not. At any rate, you should really try making this; it turned out beautifully the very first time I made it, and is one of the best soups I’ve ever eaten, let alone made myself.Ā 

Anyways, I’ve been on a bit of a fish kick lately. I gave up fish when I first stopped eating meat, but have started reincorporating it into my diet for a couple reasons.

a) it’s delicious. I will happily live without red meat and poultry for the rest of my life, but fish is still appealing, and doesn’t upset my digestive system.

b) i tentatively subscribe to the “if you wouldn’t kill it yourself, you shouldn’t eat it” philosophy. I couldn’t kill a cow or a chicken. But I have killed a fish. It may be a shady moral victory, but I’m going to take it anyways šŸ™‚

c) it’s good for you!

So, ethical discussions aside, here’s the recipe.

3 TBSP Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1/2 lrg red onion, roughly chopped

2 stalks of celery, finely sliced

1/2 C chopped carrots

1 C diced potato

540ml can of diced tomatos (I like the pre-seasoned Italian ones) Don’t drain.

3 1/2 C vegetable broth

1/4 C white wine (or to taste)

~400g mixed fish/shellfish (great way to use up random fish you may have hiding out in your freezer – high quality fresh fish really isn’t necessary for a great soup – I used about half a bag of mixed shellfish, and some frozen tilapia I had on hand)

Heat oil on medium heat in a large saucepan.

Once hot, add onion and celery and season with salt and pepper, cook until onions begin to turn translucent.

Add remaining ingredients, except the fish, and allow to simmer until potatoes are tender. If too much water boils off, add a little water to maintain broth levels. I didn’t use a lid, and added about 1/2 C water.

Add the fish to the simmering soup just 5 mins before serving.

Enjoy! I dare you not to!

About Aubrey Foncine

I'm a self-taught foodie with a small kitchen and big aspirations!
This entry was posted in Soup, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Delicious Fish Stew-Soup

  1. Erica says:

    Pict-cha? You forgot, didn’t you? It sounds really good. I take exception to point b, though. I will only kill mosquitoes… ick

  2. Alexis says:

    I think I will try this one. Sounds much less work – which is my philosophy when it comes to cooking!

Leave a Reply

